The registry contains information about a wide range of South African archival and memory institutions and organisations, and international collections that hold material related to Southern Africa.
The Bafokeng Digital Archive is a comprehensive, authoritative, and accessible source of original materials related to the Bafokeng people of South Africa, past and present.
The active collection, recording and preservation of heritage, history and indigenous knowledge through community-based processes is central to the Bafokeng Digital Archive. This particularly includes the on-going collection of oral histories from Bafokeng community members. Oral history interviews are available as text, audio files and in some cases as video files.
The mission of the National English Literary Museum (NELM) is to maintain and extend the nation’s leading collection of southern African English literary heritage and to serve as a source of expertise through exemplary research, conservation, exhibitions and public programmes.
The Archives attempts as far as possible to collect, arrange and preserve all documents written or received by the Reformed Church in the course of its existence. See also areas of specialisation.
The Hartbeespoort and surrounding environment is a cultural landscape, rich in natural and man made assets. The HEHA accept stewardship of this Heritage.
The main objectives of HEHA to 1) get to know the natural and man-made heritage in our environment, 2) nurture interest and appreciation for it with the public, 3) protect and preserve it, 4) utilise it in meaningful and sustainable ways, 5) make it accessible, 6) improve it to the best of our present knowledge and abilities, and 7) convey it to posterity.
The Klerksdorp Museum is housed in a number of buildings. The main museum (a former prison), is a beautiful sandstone building completed in 1891 and features archaeology, cultural history, farm implements and animal drawn vehicles. There are period exhibitions in the adjacent Warden’s House as well as regularly rotating temporary exhibitions that are housed throughout the Museum.
The Kruger House Museum, situated on Boekenhoutfontein, the historic farm of President Paul Kruger, comprises various farm buildings, farmyard and a house museum.
The architecture of the President Pretorius House Museum is proof that the Cape architectural tradition had been maintained after the Great Trek into the interior parts of the country. The major part of Pretorius’s own furniture and his personal possessions were destroyed during the Anglo-Boer War (1899 - 1902). Honouring Pretorius’s devotion to traditional and indigenous practices by favouring traditional architecture, every attempt has been made to restore the house to its original condition.
The Goetz-Fleischack Museum was the residence of Andreas Marthinus Goetz, magistrate of Potchefstroom from 1870 to 1881. It is the only remaining example of the early townhouses, which were built around the New Market Square between 1850 and 1885. In 1840, Potchefstroom was initially a tranquil and sparsely populated town. However, due to its strategic location, it soon developed into a prosperous trading centre.
The Potchefstroom Museum is the biggest rural museum in the Transvaal and consists of the Main Museum, Old Museum and house museums including Goets Fleischack House Museum, President Pretorius House Museum, Totius House Museum.
The museum also comprises of Reference Centre and three exhibition art halls (Thomas Ayres Hall, Mayoral Hall, a Cultural History Hall and Otto Landsberg Hall with permanent collection).
The Totius House Museum is a typical example of a town house built during the Edwardian period. When the Theological School of the Reformed Church moved from Burgersdorp to Potchefstroom, a ground plan almost identical to the plan of the rector’s home in Burgersdorp was used in Potchefstroom. The house was completed in 1905 and was occupied by prof. Jan Lion Cachet until prof. Jacob DaniÃ«l du Toit (Totius) succeeded him in 1911.
The Lichtenburg Diggings Museum was recently opened to the public and the first building to host temporary exhibits. The dominant theme throughout the Diggings Museum are the diggings of alluvial diamant that took the Lichtenburg region by storm in 1925 â€“ 1935. This area was known to be the riches diggings the world that was open to the public. In 1927, the biggest pure red diamond, known as pigeon blood red, was discovered here. On the farm Grasfontein, just outside of Lichtenburg, the biggest diamond rush in history took place, in March 1927, in which 25 000 runners wanted to peg their claims.
The North West Agricultural Museum contains wonderful collections of farm implements, tractors and blacksmith tools from the earliest history of mechanised agriculture in the region.
The Ampie Bosman Cultural History Museum features the founding, development and history related to Lichtenburg. Some displays exhibit the diamond field discovery and the siege of Lichtenburg, in which General JH De La Rey, also known as the Lion of the West, played a significant role. The siege of Lichtenburg took place during the years of the Anglo-Boer War (1899 â€“ 1902).
Founded in 2013, Mahikeng Society is a non-profit, non-government organisation. The Society is dedicated to research, education and advocacy on issues relating to Mahikeng’s history, heritage and identity.
The Margaret Roberts Herbal Centre is in the Hartebeespoort / De Wildt en-route to Brits, against the northern slopes of the great Magaliesberge. The Herb Nursery offers and incredible selection of herbs, trialled and stabilized in the trial gardens, and all information about the plants is there for the visitors to peruse. The nursery offers an amazing and rare fruit trees, vines and medicinal plants.
The NWU Botanical Garden is situated adjacent to the Potchefstroom Campus of the North-West University. It covers an area of almost 3 hectares. Most of the plants in the Botanical Garden are indigenous with the exception of a few exotic plants which are of botanical, medicinal or educational importance. A section of the garden, around a man-made rocky-ridge, is managed as a natural field garden while the rest of the garden is more intensively managed. A variety of mammals, birds, amphibians and fish made the garden their home in recent years providing a whole new dimension to the Botanical Garden.
Formerly known as the Grahamstown Botanical Gardens, the Makana Botanical Gardens were founded in 1853 by Deed of Grant on the slopes of Gun Fire Hill. aid to be the second oldest such gardens in South Africa and a national monument, lie adjacent to the Rhodes University campus in Grahamstown. They were established way back in 1853 and were the second garden established in the Cape Colony at the time.
The Garden boasts a wide variety of fauna and flora, as well as animals.
The A.P Goossens Herbarium at the North-West University has been managed by seven curators during its 80 years of existence. It has been housed in many buildings and has shifted regularly between the Botany Department and the Botanical Garden. It was initially known as the Herbarium Potchefstroom for C.H.E., but the name was later changed in honour of its founder and first curator, Professor Antonie Goossens.
The Selmar Schonland Herbarium (GRA), which is housed at the Rhodes University, was formed in 1993 by the amalgamation of the Albany Museum Herbarium (GRA) and the Rhodes University Herbarium (RUH). It is named in honour of the distinguished botanist, Selmar Schonland, who did much to establish botany in South Africa, at Rhodes University and the botanical collections of the Albany Museum in the late 19th century. The herbarium is affiliated to Rhodes University Department of Botany and the Albany Museum.
The herbarium houses approximately 200 000 plant specimens, making it the 4th largest herbarium in South Africa and the 9th largest on the whole African continent.
The Special Collections of North-West University is housed at various locations on its different campuses. These include:
Ut mea diam dignissim adipiscing. In error zril sea, hinc perpetua intellegebat vel ex. Nec ex sonet epicurei interpretaris. An tollit diceret inciderint eum.
Page 1 of 1 pages