Registry

The registry contains information about a wide range of South African archival and memory institutions and organisations, and international collections that hold material related to Southern Africa.

Sorted by Date / Title

Barberton Museum

Barberton was established in 1884 when Fred and Henry Barber and their cousin, Fred, discovered gold here. On 24 July 1884 the Gold Commissioner, David Wilson, christened the reef with a bottle of gin, champagne not being available, and named the place Barberton. Prospectors and fortune seekers flocked to Barberton. The town only flourished for a brief period until gold was discovered on the Witwatersrand and only the larger mines continued operating.

Botshabelo Historical Village and Game Reserve

The Botshabelo Historical Village and Game Reserve is an open-air museum that preserves the customs and the various art forms traditionally practised by the Ndebele, particularly their women, including beadwork, murals and the embroidering of blankets.

Pilgrim's Rest Museum Archive

The Pilgrim’s Rest Museum Archive is the old TGME (Mining) Archive when Pilgrim’s Rest, and the museum took over the archive in 1976.

Himeville Museum

The stone buildings which now comprises the Himeville Museum were built in 1900 as the last of Natal’s loop-holed forts before housing prisoners until 1972.  The Himeville museum is housed in the old stone fort or laager started in 1896 by the Border Mounted Rifles sent to police the area after the LeFleur Rebellion of 1895. Completed in 1899 it was only used once during the Bambata rebellion of 1906 although no fighting took place nearby. It was taken over by the Natal Mounted Police after the Anglo-Boer War and turned into a prison by the addition of the warders house and magistrates court along with a number of cells. Abandoned as a prison in 1972 it became a museum in 1976 and was declared a National Monument in 1978. It is now affiliated to the KZN Provincial Museum Service.

Dullstroom Heritage Society

The Dullstroom Heritage Society was founded in 2013. The group aims to create interest and excitement in the town’s fascinating heritage.

Page 1 of 1 pages